Server 2003 for Small Business Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server 2003 for Small Business Help

First of all, I'm a newbie when it comes to Servers, Server 2003, and AD, but I am in my second term of a LAN Management degree so I do have some knowledge on these subjects.

My brother in law had a network setup for him with 1 server that runs Server 2003 for Small Business and the guy that set it up is no longer around so he has me as his "network" guy now.

I was setting up a new account in AD, all went well, then I went to add the user to ACT! when I was prompted that there was an update available for ACT! I ran the update, started ACT! back up and there was an error so I decided to do a restart. Five minutes (probably less, I'm sort of impatient) or so later it still hadn't restarted so I manually shut it down by holding in the power button, which I think screwed something up. (Bash away)

I started the server back up and I can't login as the Administrator anymore. It will not accept the password that was working before. I have no clue whats wrong. I tried doing the "Directory Restore Mode" but can't login. I tried logging in as my brother in laws account too which has admin privledges but it won't let me log on with his account.

Everything else works like normal, but I just can't login as the Administrator anymore. I have no idea if it's a DC or just a domain, but I think its just a domain.

Is there some way to remotely reset the local admin password or something?

Please help!

Re: Server 2003 for Small Business Help

Just a quick one. A server running Exchange takes up to 15 minutes (or more) to shut down. Don't know if SBS takes that long or not, but if you are an impatient type, then may I suggest you change your degree now. This will result in a lesser number of incidents as you have described above.