Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help recovering admin password in Windows 2000 Pro.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help recovering admin password in Windows 2000 Pro.

Hey all,

I'm a computer technician and I own a computer store. Someone related to me (my father's aunt) brought in her computer today, asking if I could fix it because she couldn't log in since she doesnt know any of the passwords. Aparently her son installed Windows on the computer and she doesn't know the passwords to it, the person who does know is out of town and the password he gave me for admin does not work, and he has no idea what else it could be.

I tried doing the logon.scr trick in hopes that it would work, but when I do I get an error saying I don't have the proper permissions to change the password. From the net user command I can tell that there are the following user accounts on the system:
    -Administrator
    -Guest (locked)
    -Terry
    -Mom
    -Kids

Each of the user accounts are unfortunatly password protected in which no one seems to know the password. I have tried a few things that I can think of and I can't seem to get in.

The other solution would be to do a backup and reinstall. My only problem with this, the computer was setup in the stupidest way I have ever seen. There are 2 hard drives and each one is split into 2 partitions. There is stuff everywhere and alot of files needing to be backed up, and a lot of programs of which I dont even know where the cds are and they don't have some of the licenses anymore (or the son that is out of town has them). My other problem since it's approaching taxes, they need this back asap.