No announcement yet.

Administrator did not create password but computer keeps asking

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Administrator did not create password but computer keeps asking

I am a novice and have read the articles and responses but my problem is that I don't know where to go to type in all that "stuff"

I removed my daughter and her boyfriend from her computer when she moved out and made myself the administrator. Our two computers are connected for DSL without sharing priveledges (his idea). Her boyfriend had made a lot of changes to her computer and it was bogged down with "junk" (music and games) that made it an operater's nightmare as well as some virus issues.

I intended to clean it up and did not want a Windows password but it required an administrator (his doing), so I left the password field blank when I made myself the administrator thinking I would not have to log in (big mistake!).

When the computer boots up it tells me to click on my user name and enter the passord. The hint is "my computer". I have tried the default passwords for windows, their two passwords, and every conceivable password I can think of but no luck.

I have entered Setup when it boots and both Suprv Password and User Password were disabled. I enabled it, created a password, tried the Windows login screen and it still doesn't work. I have even reset its Default Settings in Setup. Would entering through a Safe-mode make any difference??

I created the Windows Key Reset Password disk from the article on your site; have the CD-Rom with XP Pro drivers that was created and given to me by the local outfit who built the PC; I have been to, MS trying what they suggest in their articles, and every Google site that addresses passwords.