NT Password situation help needed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NT Password situation help needed

Hey all, I am new here so please bear with me, I am studying for the Comptia exams and don't have that much experience fixing pc's even though I have been using the pc for 8 years or so. A neighbor of mine who does construction found a pc while cleaning out a building and not knowing if it's working or not he just brought it to me to see if it's working or not. It boots fine to the login screen and here's the specs on it according to what I see in it's BIOS

Dell Optiplex GX200 BIOS Revision A02
    PIII 1ghz 256ram ecc rdram
    Service Tag BBMDGO1
    686 Processor ID
    Windows NT Workstation

It boots fine to windows but asks for the login info which of course no one knows, before reloading either win2k or XP on it, I would like to know if there is any way to bypass the login to get into the NT software, since I have never come across NT before I see this as a golden opportunity to see what it's like, any ideas please? Thanks.

Re: NT Password situation help needed

Did you try any of these suggestions?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Yes, I am working with the "Alternate screen logon" and am trying to load win2k as I don't have a copy of NT, my first problem right now is at the Partitioning screen, however, the tutorial says

"It is best that you install the alternate instance of the OS into a different partition than the one on which you have the installation"

What I am seeing on this screen are 2 partitions, the one that is highlighted reads "Unknown" and the other partition reads "C: NTFS <AMS_2_51> 19861MB <17627 MB free> it looks like this on the screen

--- Unknown 31 MB
      C: NTFS <AMS_2_51> 19861 MB <17627 MB free>