Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dual Monitor setup on Backbox Linux machine

Hi all,

I am trying to set up dual monitors on a backbox Linux machine. As far as I know, the video card installed should support this. I am a noob to the Linux environment and I have been trying to look around in the

I do not see the option listed
    I ran this switch 'lspci | grep VGA' to find out the type of card installed.

I got this output: AMD nee ATI Rage 128 Pro Ultra TF.

I have gone into settings manager, display as well as desktop to see if there is any dual monitors showing there where I can extend my desktop.
    I have scoured Linux forums but not coming up with anything as of yet.
    Pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Philip

Re: Dual Monitor setup on Backbox Linux machine

alright, lets see the output of your lspci. do you see your cards?

you couldnt find anything on the net about it? did you look at:

How to set up multiple monitors in linux

and what are you using, i.e. linux flavor? that would really help... cause i could tell you to "sudo apt-get install arandr"... but i dont know if you can apt-get.

???
    its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
    Give karma where karma is due...

Comment

Originally posted by James Haynes View Post
      alright, lets see the output of your lspci. do you see your cards?

you couldnt find anything on the net about it? did you look at:

How to set up multiple monitors in linux

and what are you using, i.e. linux flavor? that would really help... cause i could tell you to "sudo apt-get install arandr"... but i dont know if you can apt-get.

???
      I looked at those articles but I wasn't able to make sense of them.

The flavor I'm running is ubuntu, I ran this command: lsb_release -a
      I got: Ubuntu 12.04.2

when I ran lspci, I got:

AMD nee ATI Rage 128 Pro Ultra TF

Does that help?

Comment

so if your running ubuntu, what does the "sudo apt-get install arandr" do onyour box??