KPIs for an IT Manager?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• KPIs for an IT Manager?

My boss has asked me to setup KPIs for myself. I have never done these before so I was wondering what KPIs would an IT Manager have? Thanks.
    |
    +-- JDMils
    |
    +-- Regional Systems Engineer, DotNet programmer & Jack of all trades
    |

Re: KPIs for an IT Manager?

Grrrrr, with 106 posts I am going to assume your clicked into the Lounge and posted this by mistake, so I moved it to the Misc Forum for you.

Are you sure he asked for KPI and not PKI? PKI makes a lot more sense. If PKI this will get moved again to Security.

[Edit] Oh this is bad. I read JDs post and wonder why the manager wanted a KPI for himself (the manager). Did not see the myself. Really need to get eyes tested. Too many makes your eyes go funny. (Notice those guys are wearing glasses!!)
    Last edited by biggles77; 22nd August 2006, 13:24.
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

KPI = Key Performance Indicator
      Unfortunately too well known in management circles...

I would look through your job description and have a realistic target for each area. Remember to put in some personal stuff like training.

I'll think more...

Tom
      Tom Jones
      MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
      PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
      IT Trainer / Consultant
      Ossian Ltd
      Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Thanks. Biggles77, don't get mad at me I did mean KPI as Ossian stated. My boss wants me to create a job description and KPI for myself. I've done the job description, but KPI's are harder in the IT circles.