Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Where should I place Symantec Backup Exec?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where should I place Symantec Backup Exec?

Hello,

I am studying the software "Symantec Backup Exec 2012" , and I was wondering where it is best practises to install it: In a domain controller, in a sql server, in a machine only for this purpose...

Actually, the question is: Where do people really install it , in a dedicated server or they just install it along with other roles like a DHCP Server or a File server?

Thanks in advance.
    -
    Madrid (Spain).

Backup Exec 2012.... best place is in the bin
    2010 and 2014 are both considerably better

Seriously, IMHO on a dedicated backup server (certainly not on a DC, although I suppose on a file server would be OK) with either its own copy of SQL server or an existing SQL box

Comment about DCs obviously does not apply in an SBS environment
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Why would you not put BE on a DC, also how would you backup the DC, just out of interest. Here to learn.

Comment

You would install the remote backup agent on the DC, but best practice is (still) to keep the minimum of additional roles on the DC apart from AD and DNS
        Tom Jones
        MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
        PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
        IT Trainer / Consultant
        Ossian Ltd
        Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Originally posted by tolmie View Post