Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cable Patching & UNMANAGED Switch

Hi people

I am going to deploy a New IT infrastruction on our current office and when it comes to cables I am not good at it. So I was wondering if any one of you could shed some light on the best cable type to deploy on a new office and which type of switch is best for Patch cables UNMANAGED or Managed.

Cat 6 with UNMANAGED Gigabit Switches for Patch Panel is my option but i would love to hear your options.

Thank you

Romi

Re: Cable Patching & UNMANAGED Switch

Well it really depends on the company's requirements, but...

I'd usually put solid-core Cat 6/6a in the walls between the patch panel and face plates. Then stranded Cat 6/6a (PatchSee if you want it to glow pretty colours and have too much money to spend) between the patch panel and the switch - I'd suggest buying ready made patch leads rather than making them as there's not a huge cost difference and it saves SO much time.

The cable in the walls should be picked carefully - some brands make very dodgy "Cat 6". Make sure it's rated for installation in the wall (sometimes referred to as plenum) and for futureproofing I'd be inclined to pick cable rated for PoE as well. Haggle with your dealer and there shouldn't be any price difference.

Also briefly consider what colour cable to order - grey may be a little cheaper, but if not it's useful to be able to see at a glance "that's grey - must be mains, that's red - must be data" etc.
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment