Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SQL Server upgrade failure (SQL Server 2005 Express Edition to SQL Server 2005)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SQL Server upgrade failure (SQL Server 2005 Express Edition to SQL Server 2005)

Hi there

Have encountered problems trying to upgrade SQL Server 2005 Express Edition to SQL Server 2005 Standard Edition.

(Reason for upgrade is SQL Server 2005 Express Edition extremely limits the reporting functionality of the System Center Essentials 2007 install).

So, ran setup.exe SKUUPGRADE-1

All initial tests complete with Success.

Then when I get to which elements I want to upgrade, I only get the following options:

>Client Components
    >>Connectivity Components
    >>Management Tools
    >>Business Intelligence Development Tools
    >>Software Development Kit
    >>SQLXML Client Features
    >>Legacy Components
    >Documentation, samples and Sample Databases

I'm no SQL expert, but I was expecting options of Databases, Reporting Services, stuff like that.

I know that it is supposed to be possible to upgrade along that path.

Can anyone point out where I'm going wrong?

I'm assuming the fact that SCE 2007 is installed has nothing to do with it.

Advice most welcome.

Thanks in advance

Taw Jackson

Re: SQL Server upgrade failure (SQL Server 2005 Express Edition to SQL Server 2005)

have you seen this one?
    It explains quite detailed how to perform the upgrade.
    http://www.toddklindt.com/blog/Lists...ost.aspx?ID=55
    Marcel
    Technical Consultant
    Netherlands
    http://www.phetios.com
    http://blog.nessus.nl

MCITP(EA, SA), MCSA/E 2003:Security, CCNA, SNAF, DCUCI, CCSA/E/E+ (R60), VCP4/5, NCDA, NCIE - SAN, NCIE - BR, EMCPE
    "No matter how secure, there is always the human factor."

"Enjoy life today, tomorrow may never come."
    "If you're going through hell, keep going. ~Winston Churchill"

Comment