Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need to connect a SCSI I Device to a PC

Hi Everyone,

I'm not very good with SCSI so I'm coming here for advise!

A friend of mine has an old DOS PC with a big database file on its SCSI hard drive that he wants to transfer to a newer PC. Obviously the file can't be transfered easily because it's a SCSI 1 device and the PC is 5 1/2" floppy drives (no USB of course!).

I've attached a picture of the connection and the hard drive below. What would be the easiest method to have this bugger detect itself in a Windows PC? I was thinking some sort of SCSI PCI controller card that this can plug into, but not sure what's best.

Thank you!
    Sam
    Attached Files
    Last edited by stommy989; 24th November 2008, 04:47.

Re: Need to connect a SCSI I Device to a PC

A PCI-controller should work, maybe yoou can find one on Ebay, or similar sites. It is a very old thing.. - I can figure out, that you have no backup of the database??

If there is a controllercard in the old PC, you can move to another PC, unless it is ISA.
    Best regards,
    Carsten.

Comment

You can still get controllers with that interface on them - it is still used for some SCSI optical drives.

Assuming you don't know about addressing...

You can have multiple SCSI devices on a chain - more than the 2 device limit of IDE. On an IDE chain there is a master and a slave. On a SCSI chain, devices have different addresses. The SCSI controller usually has the address 7, although this can be changed.

Set the drive to address 1, connect it to the chain and try to detect it. If it isn't detected, try changing the address (usually set with DIP switches or jumpers - probably on the front of the drive, and naturally make these changes when the power is turned off.
      Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.