Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Symantec Backup Exec 11d - Help\Suggestions

Hi Everyone,

I need to setup a backup solution in my office. This is my first time setting up a backup solution. And Yes, budget is very limited. (2 servers, 7 staffing workstations, 6 public workstations)

We purchased Backup Exec and I am looking for the best possible setup to configure the application. So far, I have configured the backup server and make a full backup of the File server to a USB storage device.

I would like to enable the Continues Data Protection, Snapshots and (I believe) agents for the workstations.

As for the media drive, the backup server has enough space all the data (SATA 500GB). Should I also backup this data somewhere else? It is smart to backup the SATA drive to another drive on the same machine for just incase?

Please Iím pretty new at this so any help is appreciated.

Desire outcome:
    Be able to backup File Server, Workstation software database, and 1 folder from each staffing system.

This is my setup.
    Server1 - Windows 2003 SBS (Primary AD, DNS, Print server, File Server, AV)
    Server2 - Windows 2003 standard - Backup Server (Symantec Backup Exec 11d)
    Workstation3 - Financial Applications (QuickBooks) and proprietary software.
    Staff Workstations (6) - "My Documents" redirection to Server1. However, I may need to backup a local folder seating on C:\Outlook.
    No need to backup public workstations.

CompTIA A+, CompTIA N+, MS Windows 2000, MS Windows XP

Pursuing: CompTIA Security+, Server 2003

Re: Symantec Backup Exec 11d - Help\Suggestions

Ideally for a good backup solution you want to backup to secondary storage I.e. tape, so that you can store it in a firesafe and remove it from site easily. A USB drive is OK I suppose provided it is taken off site and not just left next to the server.

Couple of questions:-
    1. Is all the data you want to backup on Server1, and Server2 purely a backup server?