need some anti-virus opinions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need some anti-virus opinions

ok I'm a systems administrator for a company with about 300 users spanned over 5 states.We use Mcafee for a virus solution currently.I honestly don't like symantec or Mcafee I find them both useless for protection.My users call me up and send me in computers infected all the time.I find that mcafee lets alot of infections through.I want to propose a different solution to my it manager
    and I was curious what you guys would suggest.I was thinking Kaspersky.So please let me know what you guys suggest and maybe a ballpark what it would cost to implement it in my environment.Thanks guys
    MCITP: EA

MCITP: SA

Re: need some anti-virus opinions

I've used Mcafee quite a lot of time and it's a very good Antivirus solution.
    However make sure you keep the AV software at least about 8.0 (patch 13) or higher.
    Combining this with ePO 3.6 or higher will give you a fantastic product.
    I haven't seen any false positives with Mcafee as look as you configure it correctly. Also I've noticed many many times that Mcafee has a faster updating meganism then for example Trend.

I've worked with a Trend Micro gateway scanner (for HTTP/SMTP/FTP) which was configured to pull his updates every 15 minutes. In the back I used Mafee Groupshield for Exchange and when a new urgent virus was released, Mcafee was the first which catches the virus. About 3 hours later Trend took over. Mcafee was configured to update every 3 hours.

Symantec should be removed as quickly as possible from the market. I think it's a horrible product.
    Karspersky is also a very good product. And also NOD32 is.
    You say that mcafee is useless but as you could noticed I don't agree.

Eventually their aren't any good or bad AV products. All has their good and their bads except Symantec which has only their bads. It all come down on personal flavor.

I like mcafee, others like Trend etc.