Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Buying more DDR2 memory question;

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Buying more DDR2 memory question;

    I went to HP and got it straighten out.

    Later

    My PC say it takes PC 3200 DDR2.

    I've found some 240 pin 533 1Rx8 PC2-4200U-444-12-00, will this work?
    Last edited by 1jay1; 17th December 2007, 23:21.
    Later!!
    Jay

    "" As Soon As Apocalypse Comes, IM me ""

  • #2
    Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

    Originally posted by 1jay1 View Post
    I went to HP and got it straighten out.

    Later

    My PC say it takes PC 3200 DDR2.

    I've found some 240 pin 533 1Rx8 PC2-4200U-444-12-00, will this work?
    No.

    Your system can only handle a maximum of PC3200.

    PC2-4200 is a different standard.

    Try reading this for some help.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR2_SDRAM

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

      Not only that, but OEM systems are VERY picky when it comes to memory. Check to see what the HP sells the upgraded memory for, as well as other vendors (Corsair and Crucial both have compatibility checkers on their respective sites).
      ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

        Please post the exact model of your computer (laptop ) and I will try to help ...

        Sorin Solomon


        In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
        -

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

          The chances are the faster memory will work and just run at a slower clock.

          In line with the FSB.
          [email protected] 3.8ghz/Asus Maximus/8800GTS 512 MB/Ballistix 4GIG 1066 mhz/17443 3D Marks 06

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

            Originally posted by easyrider View Post
            The chances are the faster memory will work and just run at a slower clock.

            In line with the FSB.

            Please check your information first!
            DDR (PC3200) SODIMMS are 200 pin
            DDR2 (PC4200) are (as stated) 240 pin

            It will not FIT in the slot, let alone work!
            Tom Jones
            MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
            PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
            IT Trainer / Consultant
            Ossian Ltd
            Scotland

            ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

              Originally posted by Ossian View Post
              Please check your information first!
              DDR (PC3200) SODIMMS are 200 pin
              DDR2 (PC4200) are (as stated) 240 pin

              It will not FIT in the slot, let alone work!
              I have fitted PC 3200 DDR 2 ram in a mobo that only supports 4200 and higher ram without issue.

              PC2-3200 (400MHz) DDR2 240-pin Memory does exist and was the first DDR 2 to surface for the desktop PC.

              So to conclude:

              PC2-3200 (400MHz) DDR2 200 sodimm
              PC2-3200 (400MHz) DDR2 240-pin

              Do exist.

              Thanks


              Easyrider
              Last edited by easyrider; 19th December 2007, 17:25.
              [email protected] 3.8ghz/Asus Maximus/8800GTS 512 MB/Ballistix 4GIG 1066 mhz/17443 3D Marks 06

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                Thread is finished; OP edited his own post
                ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                  Originally posted by Wired View Post
                  Thread is finished; OP edited his own post
                  Has he? Looks the same as originally quoted?
                  Server 2000 MCP
                  Development: ASP, ASP.Net, PHP, VB, VB.Net, MySQL, MSSQL - Check out my blog http://tonyyeb.blogspot.com

                  ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                    I'm guessing his original post was:
                    My PC say it takes PC 3200 DDR2.

                    I've found some 240 pin 533 1Rx8 PC2-4200U-444-12-00, will this work?
                    then he added this w/ an edit:
                    I went to HP and got it straighten out.

                    Later
                    ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                      Now i get it. Thanks for clearing it up wired.

                      Glad to see that people can still agrue over little details as seen in this thread
                      Server 2000 MCP
                      Development: ASP, ASP.Net, PHP, VB, VB.Net, MySQL, MSSQL - Check out my blog http://tonyyeb.blogspot.com

                      ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                        Before a mod suggest's I check my information first before I post,they should at least make sure themselves that the info being posted is invalid.

                        I know the difference between Memory specifications.

                        So my post was factual based on using 3200 DDR2 240 PIN modules.

                        Have no idea why Ossian does not know this.
                        [email protected] 3.8ghz/Asus Maximus/8800GTS 512 MB/Ballistix 4GIG 1066 mhz/17443 3D Marks 06

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                          Originally posted by easyrider View Post
                          Before a mod suggest's I check my information first before I post,they should at least make sure themselves that the info being posted is invalid.

                          I know the difference between Memory specifications.

                          So my post was factual based on using 3200 DDR2 240 PIN modules.

                          Have no idea why Ossian does not know this.
                          No need to stir things up. If you have a personal problem then please PM the person in question. Please keep the forums clean of arguments wherever possible.
                          Server 2000 MCP
                          Development: ASP, ASP.Net, PHP, VB, VB.Net, MySQL, MSSQL - Check out my blog http://tonyyeb.blogspot.com

                          ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Buying more DDR2 memory question;

                            Thread closed!

                            Michael
                            Michael Armstrong
                            www.m80arm.co.uk
                            MCITP: EA, MCTS, MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003: Messaging, CCA, VCP 3.5, 4, 5, VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA, ITIL, MCP, PGP Certified Technician

                            ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

                            Comment

                            Working...
                            X