No announcement yet.

Windows XP Media Center - Disk Controller Driver Gone AWOL?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows XP Media Center - Disk Controller Driver Gone AWOL?

Is there any means of re-installing a 3rdparty disk controller driver via limited dos that is accessible thru Windows XP Media Center dos window?

My home windows xp media center Gateway GM5066E desktop is no longer booting to windows but instead is looping thru the black Windows Failed To Load screen that gives options for safe boot, last known configuration, etc. Regardless of which option I chose from this screen, it merely reloops and redisplays the black multi-option screen, and yes, my first choice when confronted with the screen was to choose Last Known Good Configuration, but, to no avail, it just re-looped.

I'm fairly certain my boot dilemma was introduced via my last Windows Update Thursday nite April 12. I am a careful administrator of my machine and am diligent about daily antivirus protection practices and weekly or so Ad-Aware scanning and I connect to the internet thru a router with hardware firewall.

What I think happened is WU overwrote the driver for my SATA2 harddrive (HDT722525DLA380, 250GB, maybe 12GB in use). Upon reboot following WU only the miniNT partition could be used. Previous to the WU-recommended reboot, I had rebooted without issue as recently as Sunday of that same week.

My goal is to recover my windows install so as to not have to reconfigure all my disparate other applications by using Gateway's option.

What have I tried?
    -- I've tried the vendor recovery CD, but, it isn't offering any option but clean install with destruction to all data

-- I've called vendor support. Three times now as I've progressed with my own diagnosis of my problem. Gateway's only option is to use their recovery cd.