• Show
Clear All

• Sending very large files between networks

Hi,
    I'm a software developer.
    I have an application which needs to sends very large files
    between networks all over the world.
    Once an hour (approximately) the application must send 2GB file
    to a remote server on another network in the other side of the world.

From both IT perspective and software development perspective – what is
    the most reliable way to perform such a task?
    Is there some well-known product for this? Is ftp (client in code) enough reliable
    to send such large files?
    Should I use lower-level protocol for this?

Our code is using MS technologies (.net).

Thanks.

Re: Sending very large files between networks

How sensitive is the information in the files?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

FTP is the way to go in general. However there are many people who are wary of FTP for long term use. FTP can be finicky at times so you really have to build in checks to make sure that all data was send across correctly, outside of FTP. (checksum, size, date, etc...)

if you are brave you can check out rsync for windows here, although I have never seen it embedded within a windows app. You really would be on you own if you go there.

Finally I must admit that I am by no means a programmer...
      "...if I turn out to be particularly clear, you've probably misunderstood what I've said” - Alan Greenspan

Comment

rvalstar just reminded me of SFTP. so that is an option as well for securing the data. see here
        "...if I turn out to be particularly clear, you've probably misunderstood what I've said” - Alan Greenspan

Comment