Need suggestions for a used server for home use

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need suggestions for a used server for home use

Hi all, this is my first post here and I need help with choosing server hardware.

I am looking to buy a used server for home use so i can create a virtualized environment of windows server and exchange to practice for microsoft exams. I also want to get familiar with server hardware as i have no experience with it. I plan to use VmWare Esxi and install multiple Windows 2008 VMs on it.

I am confused about the server types and i will appreciate if someone can help me with a few questions about server hardware.

There are IBM, Dell and HP servers available in my local market for reasonable price.
    Should the processor be dual or quad core or more to have a reasonable performance with lets say 5 VMs on Esxi? What difference does it make to have a raid controller? Do I need a KVM switch or can I just plug keyboard, Mouse and monitor into server ports to make it work with VMware Esxi? I suppose DDR2 RAM will be good enough?

I am particularly interested in these 3 IBM servers that are lower in price compared to similar Dell and HP servers:
    1.) IBM x3400 Tower server

2.) IBM System x3650 M2 server

3.) IBM SYSTEM X3950

Which ones would you recommend?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by oakland; 13th June 2015, 10:32.

Do you really need a full blown server?

I'd personally look at VMware Workstation and beef up your current system with more RAM and disks.

Comment

What is your budget?
      For training, RAM is the main issue, although operationally drive speed (IOPS) is as important
      Tom Jones
      MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
      PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
      IT Trainer / Consultant
      Ossian Ltd
      Scotland