What to do with failed hard drives on warranty

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to do with failed hard drives on warranty

I'm relatively new to the world of IT, and I'm learning a lot as I go.

One of the issues that has come up several times is a failed hard drive that is still on warranty. The reason this is an issue is that most often a failed hard drive will not "mount" and therefore I cannot wipe the data from it using something like Eraser.

When companies replace faulty hard drives that are still on warranty they often want the original back (if not always), so my question here is what do you do in this situation? Despite the fact the hard drive doesn't show up on machines, I have serious reservations sending back a drive that I haven't run some sort of data shredding software on to format it. I can't open it up and destroy the platters like I would with a disk who's warranty had expired either.

Up until now we've just been taking a loss on these drives and buying new ones, but we don't have the money to constantly replace faulty drives (especially ones still on warranty) so I'm wondering what the best course of action is in this case.

I am completely open to suggestions!

Re: What to do with failed hard drives on warranty

If you are having such a bad time with failing HDDs then I would suggest changing the drive manufacturer or find out why you seem to be having this issue. In the last 10 years I have had 6 HDD failures in some 85+ Servers running 24/7.

Before returning the HDDs you could always use an electronic device that will corrupt any data on the drive.
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

I wish it were that simple...

Unfortunately the failed disks come from a variety of manufacturers, in a variety of different machines serving a variety of different purposes.