Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BlackArmor NAS Advice

OK,

I'm after a bit of advice (any opinions welcome)

I sold my always-on-server because it was costing me 200 a year to run (not immediately relevant but it is a bit later) and decided to buy a NAS ... being an IT Pro I'm a bit of a sucker for technologies like RAID and so on.

I bought myself a Seagate BlackArmor NAS 110 (4 x 500GB drives, RAID 0, 4 x USB) ... what I received was a Seagate BlackArmor NAS110 2TB (smaller, 2 USB, 1 x 2TB disk). Up until that point I had no idea that the NAS110 could refer to 2 distinct models but I've checked and it does appear to.

I raised an RMA to return it but for a number of reasons had to wait to return it. Over the weekend I chatted to friends who reckoned I was nuts, their logic was as follows:
    • The bottleneck for NAS's is the network so performance will (under most circumstances) be as good from a 1 drive NAs as a 4 drive RAID one.
    • RAID is more liable to fail as it has 4 disk, it's RAID 0 not RAID 5 so failure will take the entire RAID not just 1 disk.
    • A 4 disk RAID will be much higher in power usage terms will be much higher (which was why I got rid of my server and bought a NAS). I think the 4 drive NAS has a 200W PSU.

Apparently the units are much the same price so my choice is, return the 1 DRIVE unit delivered in error and get the one with 4 drives or keep the 1 drive unit? Does anyone have any advice or opinions on this (I'm currently edging towards the 1 drive unit)?

Kyu
    Last edited by Kyuuketsuki; 8th December 2009, 11:02.
    J C Rocks (An Aspiring Author's Journey)
    The Abyssal Void War: Stars, Hide Your Fires

Re: BlackArmor NAS Advice

Are you saying the 4 drive model has no other RAID level available than RAID0?

If so, the only thing I'd ever use it for would be to serve as a 2nd copy of something. I mean , drives fail very often, so how often would one out of 4 drives fail?