Reset BIOS Password on Dell Laptop

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reset BIOS Password on Dell Laptop

I recently purchased a Dell C840 laptop. This laptop was originally purchased from a corporate environment and the user at that time enabled the administrator password feature in the BIOS. Without this password the configure setup is disabled, which means that the boot order can not be modified. I purchased and changed out the CMOS battery with a brand new one, hoping that by doing this it would reset the chip containing the password information. This did not solve the issue. While I have experienced no limitations on operating the laptop, I would like to reset the password. Is there a painless way to do this? I have zero experience dealing with the BIOS. Thanks.

Re: Reset Admin Password on WinXP pro SP3

Is this model one of Dell's Latitude range?

Maybe give this a try - I can't give any indication as to how safe the program they refer to is though, so usual precautions apply.

That page was the first result I got from Google... what results did you get? What did Dell say when you called them?

Edit: Also, your thread title doesn't really describe the problem you have - you are looking to reset the BIOS password, not your Windows password.
    Last edited by gforceindustries; 27th July 2009, 01:59.
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment