Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ethernet card

hello there,

i am a novice to this forum and this is my first post. i got a sony vaio laptop and i divided my harddrive in to two disk drives C and D. in C i got windows XP media center and i got it from the sony. now, i would like to take MCSE exams and i thought of installing windows 2003 in the D drive. i did windows 2003 installation in drive D and the problem is the 2003 doesn't have ethernet card drivers. so it could not find out my ethernet card. so 2003 doesn't even run me dcpromo command. i went to sony website to download the drivers. unfortunately the driver support they are offering is exclusively for win xp as this laptop ships with win xp. i would like to know what my ethernet card is and i would like to download those drivers from a third party vendor rather than sony. can anybody help me out how i can find out the name of the ethernet card i am using and where i can get the drivers.

cheers
    jdsony

Re: ethernet card

Moved to hardware forum (whoo hooo)

In general, XP drivers work with 2003 without too many issues.

IMHO, though, you would be better investigating Virtual PC and running your DC inside your XP box
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

thanks for the reply ossian,