Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Control and Filter Network Traffic

Good Day

I am preparing my network at home for me to make my hands dirty by playing around with filtering and controlling traffic coming in and out of my network including mail flow .etc

I have ADSL Huwei Router, I have a PC installed with Ubuntu Linux server, I have PC running windows Server 2012R2 which is my DC and also Exchange 2013 Ent running on it,

1. I need to configure my Linux Box as a firewall, ( I have a bit of a clue that I need to have two NIC installed on it, but I have no clue what configurations must be made and how)

2. I need be to able to connect to my network even if I am not home via VPN.

Please can I have someone who can patiently guide me through the simple steps, I am not that lazy I can do more research my self but I just need a clue on how to attach this,

I am very new in the field and I believe that there is no other way to learn and become and expect, except for making your hands dirty,

Regards

Thami
    Last edited by thamzo; 3rd February 2015, 15:13.

Re: Control and Filter Network Traffic

That's a lot of detail. Presumably your Windows network is functioning fine. Presumably all you need to do is use the Linux machine as the gateway and install the firewall.

You are right about needing two network cards on the Linux machine. One card will be the interface to your private home network and the other will connect to the router that connects to the Internet - how do you intend to connect the Linux machine to the Internet?

Unless there are some Linux heads here you may need to post on a Linux forum or search for some documentation on implementing a Linux machine as a firewall and configuring access between the Internet and a Windows network.

[Edit]
    Regarding VPN access you can setup port forwarding on the router or the Linux to forward VPN traffic to your Windows Server on which you will have installed NPS/Remote Access Management