Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help to choose right hardware and process

Hi,

I am not a hardcore network guy. But I can do things myself if I have enough information. I am a programmer.

I am opening a small training business where students will use 100 iPads for learning method and internet access. I have four rooms. I want to setup a wirelss environment using Cisco gear. I have no requirement of servers at this moment. Only security students will need when they will access wireless. I believe one Cisco AP is not enough. At this moment, I don't want to have a CISCO wireless controller at this moment. I believe that will make life easier and I can use light-weight AP.

I am also thinking to have a Layer 3 Cisco switch which will connect to all AP and run DHCP server to provide IPs to iPads. That Layer 3 switch will be connected to internet router for internet access. But I am not sure because I am not a network guy. Can you please help me? I like to consider minimal cost. Thank you.

Re: Need help to choose right hardware and process

At 100 wireless connections you're probably looking at 3 - 4 radios to handle all the clients.

If you're looking to go more cost effective then you should look at other vendors besides Cisco. HP has both nice AP's and switches. Dell has very cost effective switches and I have been pleased with their performance. (have used them for core network switches and for SANs)
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

Hi,

Thanks for your quick response. I won't mind Cisco gears because I know basic things about it and I can do research and keep going. Can you please give me a list of specific hardware with model which I should buy. And what specific things I should consider during configuration. Thanks again.

Comment