Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Novice Networking and Security ?

Charter Cable Internet
    DIR-615 Wireless Router (Set up Static IP)
    Windows Server 2008 R2
    Windows XP {##Download#} for 6-8 Workstations
    Custom Built POS developed in Visual Studio 2008

Im new to networking and have been trying to learn how to create a network that will allow one workstation complete internet access for research and development, while being connected to the other workstations only on an intranet basis. How do I configure the router to help me with this configuration? How do I stop the internet from reaching our research pc's but still be interconnected to one main pc or a server? Im actually new to server setups or configs so if anyone has any suggestions for a wanting-to-learn-novice-in-charge-of-a-big-project about the best way to do this it would be great.
    Last edited by Rems; 14th April 2011, 09:12.

Re: Novice Networking and Security ?

Windows XP {##Download#} for 6-8 Workstations
    You know, we will happily support Windows XP Pro Edition, or Home Edition, or Media Centre Edition, or even Tablet Edition, but not a pirated, hacked edition.
    Last edited by Rems; 14th April 2011, 09:12.
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

wow. to be honest im such a novice i had no idea thats what i was using. i inherited this entire job from someone i thot was on the up and up. any support without the xp help. im wonderin about the router mostly. im sure thats not hacked

Comment

Block outbound traffic from the other PCs. The router documentation will tell you how. Investigate a proxy.