X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Switch redundancy

Hello,

I am studying some networking theory on my own and thought of this issue:

If I had a four story building, a switch in each floor, and they are connected to each other through two different trunk links to make them redundant, but...what if the switch in the third floor fails?.

Shouldn't I have an alternative path to go from the second floor to the fourth ?.

Similarly, if the switch in the second floor goes down, shouldn't I have an alternative way to go from first to third floor ?.

It is a real life scenario ?

thanks in advance.
    Last edited by loureed4; 5th August 2015, 09:32.
    -
    Madrid (Spain).

Not sure if it's a real life scenario. Do you have a diagram you could post?

It could work if things were connected properly and spanning-tree was enabled. In my real life scenarios I've run multiple links from the IDFs to the MDFs and had the HA switch or switch stack and configured LAGs to the IDFs. That way we get performance and redundancy. But there are may ways to configure things and it really depends on the requirements and the budget.
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

Thanks JeremyW.

Yes, I am studying Spanning tree protocol, therefore, between the switches I think that is mandatory, or at least very advisable.

I have all the switches connected as follows: The one in the first floor with the one in the second , the one in the second to the one in the third floor, but my point was: What if the one in the second or third floor goes down?.

In my view, putting a direct cable going from the one in the first floor to the one in the third floor , and another direct cable from the second to the fourth would help out if either the second or the third switch went down.