Testing why a network is slow

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Testing why a network is slow

We've had a couple of users inquiring why the internet has been so slow as of late. Up until today I though the culprit was the world cup and people on our ISP streaming the games, but there are no games on today and I don't see any body using Youtube.

This may be a stupid question, but how can I check if the slow network speeds are because of our network or because of our ISP? We've got about 60 users on our network at any given time and I've got no experience using packet analyzers.

Can anybody offer some words of wisdom?

Re: Testing why a network is slow

How do your users gain access to the Internet? Do you have a proxy server?

Are any particular sites slow, or are we talking more generally?

Do your switches log the traffic passing through them and provide statistics?
    Gareth Howells

BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

"For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

"Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

Comment

All users connect via a hardwire that sits behind a firewall, with no proxy server.

The firewall we use keeps limited logs for a small period of time, which makes my life a bit harder when trying to troubleshoot.

My main concern is always that a machine has been compromised and taking up a large portion of the networks bandwidth for malicious intention. I think this is highly unlikely, but like a true IT professional I'm paranoid

Comment

use MRTG or something similar

it will show you the levels of traffic across your router.