Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wireless Switch - Exist ?

Hello everybody.

My name is Michael and I'm an IT manager in a medium company.

I need to setup a temporary wireless communication between two buildings.

I want to use this router http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=487&sec=0

In the fisrt building I'm gonna to setup this router and in building number
    two I need to connect one PC and two network printers.
    How can I do it wirelessly ??
    Is there somewhere a wireless switch which can recieve the router's signal ??
    Thank you very much.

Michael.

Re: Wireless Switch - Exist ?

You need a Wireless Access Point in Bridge Mode
    Basically it can connect two LANs together over WiFi
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

What is the distance between the 2 buildings? While x.11n gives you more bandwidth, it also drops off the greater the range.
      Originally posted by From D-Link Page
      The D-Link RangeBooster N 650 Router (DIR-635) is a draft 802.11n compliant device that delivers real world performance of up to 650% faster and 5x farther than an 802.11g wireless connection while remaining compatible with 802.11g and 802.11b devices*.
      Be wary of the wording. This gives the impression that it gives you 5x the distance of an .11g device. I do not believe this to be correct. I read it as it will give you 5x the range of an .11g when this device is in .11g mode.