Management VLAN

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Management VLAN

So, I'm trying to set up a 'Management Network' for a new failover Hyper-V cluster and associated SAN. It's two servers and the SAN.

Typically, we run all public IPs; historically we've had plenty (it's a university). But, now to accomidate all the Hyper-V, cluster, and iSCSI traffic I don't have enough IPs to just use public addresses. Plus, I've been told by others that this is not the greatest way to approach it. If I could configure a management VLAN, I could ensure that iSCSI traffic is seperated from the rest of the network traffic and I can use a private IP space (saving public IPs).

I have limited knowledge/experience with switches and VLANs and all that.

I can handle configuring the switch to be on a private IP range network; and, I can get all the devices to talk to eachother in said network. My problem is getting to the private network/VLAN from my production network.

How do I approach this? I thought all I needed to do was configure one of the private switch ports to tag with the VLAN that the public network runs off of; but, I seem to be out of my depth.

I didn't configure our production switches; but, there's like 9 and some have a VLAN (lets say 20) untagged configured on them for our subnet. However, some of them aren't using 20; they're just using the default 1 untagged.

First, will I need to config those on default 1 to 20?

Once everything is 20 untagged; how do I move forward?
    Have the public network switch have one port tagged 100 (lets call that the private network) plugged in to the private network switch on a tagged/untagged port?

This is still new to me

Re: Management VLAN

Your question is a little all over the place. I had a hard time trying to pick up what your putting down.. But it sounds like you just need a router(or a layer 3 switch)

However, vlans, in its simplest form are very easy.