Multiple ips from ISP

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multiple ips from ISP

Excuse my ignorance. I am a routing novice. I know enough to be dangerous.

Anyway, my ISP gave me a block of ips, currently I have a Netgear Firewall router connected. I have the WAN Mode set to NAT, not classical routing. My question is, how do I use the other ips to separate traffic within the network?

Thanks.

Re: Multiple ips from ISP

I'll tell you one way to do it (what I believe is the most common). That is to have an external switch immediately after your modem. In other words, your internet connection hits your modem and then from there you put a switch. Your firewall for your LAN will plug into one of those switch ports and any other device that you want to have an external IP address will populate one of the other switch ports. I believe there are ways to bind multiple IPs to a single interface and divert that traffic to specific hosts or subnets, but that is beyond my acumen at the moment.

BTW, what type of modem are you using? What is the exact model of the router you are using?
    Wesley David
    LinkedIn | Careers 2.0
    -------------------------------
    Microsoft Certifications: MCSE 2003 | MCSA:Messaging 2003 | MCITP:EA, SA, EST | MCTS: a'plenty | MCDST
    Vendor Neutral Certifications: CWNA
    Blog: www.TheNubbyAdmin.com || Twitter: @Nonapeptide || GTalk, Reader and Google+: [email protected] || Skype: Wesley.Nonapeptide
    Goofy kitten avatar photo from Troy Snow: flickr.com/photos/troysnow/

Comment

Originally posted by louisvillecat View Post
      Excuse my ignorance. I am a routing novice. I know enough to be dangerous.

Anyway, my ISP gave me a block of ips, currently I have a Netgear Firewall router connected. I have the WAN Mode set to NAT, not classical routing. My question is, how do I use the other ips to separate traffic within the network?

Thanks.