Networking Issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Networking Issues

Hello all, this is my first time posting here. I use Petri for reference most of the time. Anywho, I am having an issue internally. I have 3 dlink 24-port (unmanaged) switches, Linksys RV016 Using it as a router not a gateway and a Motorola Router for WAN. My network consists of all windows servers and clients. I am having big issues with Latency. Last week we started pinging internally about 15ms or more come to find out that was Symantec Endpoint Protection (network Threat monitor). Fixed that. But i am still losing connection every once in a while. We cannot tell with our computers only our phones, which are VOIP/PBX. Little red light comes on when it loses connection. I have verified that all my switches are good. I have exhausted all my abilities, and with having everything unmanaged it is really hard to diagnose. Can anyone point me in a direction. If you need more info feel free to ask.

Re: Networking Issues

Get Wireshark installed and check to see what is happening.

Are you flooding your network with voice traffic? Have you checked duplex/speed on clients etc?
    If your switch is unmanaged then you have less you can go on to check from that perspective but the first thing to do is get some info.

If your PCs are plugged in via the phones then check the phones aren't forced to 100 half or similar. PC should match as should the switch.
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

what should i be looking for in Wireshark? I have never used this.

Comment

Look for a lot of packets to your network broadcast address (10.1.1.255 for example) and to the physical layer broadcast address (255.255.255.255). Also look at the port LED's on the switches and see if you see any indication of collisions (usually an amber colored LED) or flooding (usually ports blinking very rapidly).

Comment