Network Expanding

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Network Expanding

I'm a networking noob, and I hope this isn't crossing into RTFM territory. . .

I work for a mom n pop small business. Our network is small and easy to manage. Two servers, a firewall, 20 workstations, VoIP phone system, videoconferencing system over IP, 1 NAS box for file storage.

We bought another company and I'm getting one more server, another videoconferencing system, and 5 more workstations.

Currently, my firewall, phone system and both servers are in a dark, hot, dusty, non-climate controlled 2 x 4 room, shared with the pop machine. I can't fit any more machines in there, and I'm really concerned about the dust and heat.

The suggestion has been made to move everything but the phone boxes into my office, which has isolated climate control (I can just keep the door closed).

Since I'm going to be moving stuff around, I have 2 questions:

1. Is there any advantage to getting routers and creating 4 subnets (servers, workstations, phones, videoconferencing) or is the network not big enough for it to matter?

2. Right now, my servers are using a 5-port Linksys workgroup switch to connect to the T1 router. The switch was here when I got here, but it seems to me like my entire network is riding on the back of a $24 piece of equipment and that makes me nervous. Should I have something beefier?

Any and all suggestions are welcome and appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Re: Network Expanding

Originally posted by toggle View Post
    1. Is there any advantage to getting routers and creating 4 subnets (servers, workstations, phones, videoconferencing) or is the network not big enough for it to matter?
    Putting servers and workstations on different subnets may well be more of a hassle than it's worth. If you're worried about running out of IP addresses, you can change your scope to one with a bigger pool. What do you hope to gain by doing this?