problem copying files between subnets

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• problem copying files between subnets

Hi, i'm new at this form and i come here because i really need help.

I have segmented my network with vlans, all servers are in one vlan, client winxp pc's at another. Now when i copy files from client pc to server i get error "the network name is no longer available" and in client pc event log i see "The redirector failed to determine the connection type". I can successfully ping all pc's between vlans, i could connect to them, browse by \\computername but coping is awful. Smallest files copy better, large one worse, sometimes i could copy the same file, later not.
    PC's that are in the same vlan as servers has no such problems.

Routing between vlans is done by linux router. First i thought it is because of MTU. I found that i need WINS to retrieve netbios name between different network segments, so i installed WINS on my win2k3 server, and assigned it to all clients via dhcp, cheked if it works with nblookup.exe, but that didn't helped.

I disabled Oplock in server, changed IsDomainMaster=TRUE, installed some hotfix and did lot's of other stuff, but nothing helps. I have no idea anymore, so please help me.. Thanks

Re: problem copying files between subnets

Hi favorit.

Does the Linux box provide any other services besides routing?
    What is the speed of the NICs installed?
    Are you able to test with another (fast) router? i.e. L3 switch?
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

Hi Jeremy,
      Linux also provides DHCP service, it has implemented all vlan interfaces that hp procurve has. Nework adapter is intel pro MT 1000, but for now connected to 100Mb FD link at hp procurve. For routing linux has this:
      echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
      iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING --o eth0 -j MASQUERADE