Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Static Ip - Now my internet connection is slow and times out constantly

Hey guys,
    This is my first time on this board so please let me know if I overstep my bounds.

I consistently was having NAT problems with my torrents and playing games online with my PS3. I gave my computer a Static IP and it resolved both of those issues beautifully. My torrents download blazing fast and I never get drop outs from multiplayer. However, It seems to have affected my internet connection. My connection is generally a lot slower than it used to be but worse than that it consistantly times out when loading a webpage and can even disconnect my internet.

These are some of the settings I am dealing with.
    My router is a LINKSYS Router Wireless G WRT54GS.

----------ROUTER----------
    My router settings are as follows:
    Internet Connection Type: Automatic Configuration - DHCP
    DHCP Server: Enable
    Starting IP: 192.168.1.100

Wireless Settings: Disabled
    Firewall: Filter Multicast

Port Range Forwarding:
    Utorrent: 192.168.1.150
    DMZ: Enabled: 192.168.1.50

-------COMPUTER----------
    Computers IP Address: 192.168.1.150
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway:

And I think thats it. I would really appreciate any help you guys could offer.
    Thanks,
    Chris

Re: Static Ip - Now my internet connection is slow and times out constantly

I just realized this might be better in a different forum or thread have you guys seen any specific websites that might would be a good for me to try.

Comment

You will need to set a gateway on your PC with the internal router address (192.168.1.???)

Also note the forum policy on illegal downloads. I know torrents have some legitimate purposes (which I hope is the ONLY thing you are using them for)
      Tom Jones
      MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
      PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT