ASA assuming IP address of server?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ASA assuming IP address of server?

One of my clients has a Lync Edge server in their DMZ. They also recently migrated to ASAs for their firewalls.

After rebooting their edge server, it now says that there's an IP conflict with the configured IP address. Looking at the ARP table on the server it shows the ASA's MAC address on the servers IP address. From other servers in the DMZ we also see the ASA's MAC address on the server's IP address.

I'm thinking this has something to do with the NAT configuration but I'm not very strong with ASA configs.

Any ideas would be helpful. Attached is a sanitized running-config of the ASA.
    ASA_sanitized.txt
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Re: ASA assuming IP address of server?

I'm fairly new to ASAs as well, but it appears this one's running in a failover config, yes? If so, it's got 2 IPs on it's DMZ interface (Gi 0/2). Is one of those IPs the one that matches the server?

When a device runs in a failover situation, it's usually configured one of 2 ways:
    A) each device knows about the IP of the others, so if 2 devices are in a failover setup, then each device would have it's own address as primary and it's twin's as secondary.
    B) each device has it's own IP, so 2 are used, and a 3rd is needed as a virtual interface so that clients refer traffic to that 3rd IP, and whichever device is available answers. The 2 devices use their own IPs as source/destination to coordinate with each other, separately.

Have you allowed for that?

If I'm completely off the mark, I'll apologize now.
    *RicklesP*
    MSCA (2003/XP), Security+, CCNA

** Remember: credit where credit is due, and reputation points as appropriate **

Comment

Yup, in a failover. Scenario A. And we have accounted for the ASA's IPs so there should be no conflict there.