PIX 501-to-PIX 501 VPN

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PIX 501-to-PIX 501 VPN

I've used this site for years but this is my first post on here.

Hi, looking for some advice on here,

I have two locations and two PIX's,

One PIX is version 6.2 the other is 6.3.

One PIX has an internal interface of 192.168.1.x/24, the other 192.168.0.x/24

External IPs are static.

I have never used and Cisco equipment before, so I am a complete newbie to the CLI. The PDM looks relatively simple though and I am v. strong on networking.

I have configured both PIX's as each location, everything is fine and dandy.

My problem is creating a site-to-site VPN using these two devices, I read on a link via Google that I just run through the wizard on each device and it works out of the box, it doesn't on mine.

I am really just here to make sure I have everything I need (the versions are correct) etc, before I spend the day getting this working.

Or if their is just something minor I need to do apart from run through the wizards?

Thanks in advance,

Nick

Re: PIX 501-to-PIX 501 VPN

Personally speaking I've only ever used the PDM for monitoring so haven't got a clue how to run the wizard. (not sure if I should be embarrassed or not by that!)

If you can't get a resolution, and want to, could you post the config on both (editing the data for personal info) and I could see if there is anything obvious missing?
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

Cisco Document PIX Site-to-Site VPN
      http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/secu.../sit2site.html
      CCNA, Network+

Comment

Hi, I've got the PIX and site-to-site VPN working now thank you.

I have one final question about the license, I have a 10 user license on each PIX, but have with 30 clients at each location.

Can I go

Clients >>> Switch >>> 2k3 server with NAT >>> PIX >>> Router <<<VPN>>> Router >>> PIX <<<2k3 Server with NAT <<< Switch <<< Clients