Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Same VLAN different network still can ping each other? Need help understing Network

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Same VLAN different network still can ping each other? Need help understing Network

Hello All,

I just started learning networking and using GNS3 and Virtual PC simulator as tools. I need help to understand more in networking with my current setup.
    Here is my scenario:

1. Create Switch A with 2 PC simulators (PC1 and PC2) attached to it on port and 3 respectively. Assign both ports on VLAN 10.

2. Configure PC1 with IP: 192.168.2.3/24 Gateway: 192.168.2.1.
    PC2 with IP:192.168.2.6/25 Gateway: 192.168.2.1.

3. Now "PC1 ping PC2" and "PC2 ping PC1" both got reply.

Here in scenario 3 I've get confused, How come two computers with different subnet masks /24 and /25 can ping each other with no problem? Or is it because they have the same gateway?

4. Configure PC2 with different subnet this time IP: 192.168.2.130/25
    Gateway: 192.168.2.129.
    Note: VLAN Ports assignment hasn't changed and PC1 still has the same
    configuration.

5. Now "PC1 ping PC2" and "PC2 ping PC1" both not reachable.

Here in scenario 5 probably I can understand or not, because of they tried to communicate in totally different network eventhough within the same VLAN.

Any help in explaining this kind of simple network kindly appreciated.

Thanks,

Fixzit

Re: Same VLAN different network still can ping each other? Need help understing Netwo

subnet 192.168.2.0/24 gives you an address range of 192.168.2.0-192.168.2.255

subnet 192.168.2.0/25 gives you an ip range of 192.168.2.0-192.168.2.127

So they are within the same subnet, no matter which mask you use in that case.

If you had 192.168.2.3/24 and 192.168.2.128/25 you might find they cannot ping each other (Please note, im not sure, my subnetting sucks)