Configuring Cisco 1811W for VPN

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Configuring Cisco 1811W for VPN

Hi, I am new to these great forums. Although I have visited before, I have not posted.

I just replaced a Linksys router with a Cisco 1811W. I was able to migrate most of the services successfully but don't know how to tackle VPN configuration.

I want to configure VPN to allow access to the Microsoft VPN on a SBS 2003 server behind the router by a Microsoft VPN client from any ip. What do I need to do to accomplish this? Although I am somewhat familiar with CLI, I mostly use SDM GUI.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Re: Configuring Cisco 1811W for VPN

So you just need to allow PPTP to passthrough which means you need to allow tcp 1723 for PPTP and protocol 43 for GRE.

At the minimum you need an ACL coming inbound on the outside interface allowing tcp port 1723 and GRE (protocol 47) to your public ip. Then need a static nat for tcp 1723 fowarding to the internal ip of your server.
    CCNA, CCNA-Security, CCNP
    CCIE Security (In Progress)

Comment

Auglan,

Thanks for your response. I think I have in place what you suggested but it does not work. Will you be able to point out what's missing/wrong if I post the running config?

Thanks again.

Comment

Sure post your config. Just remember to mask your public ip's and passwords.

Comment

I uploaded the configuration file SDMConfig.txt. Thank you.
          Attached Files

Comment

Have you monitored any pptp traffic coming in the router? The SDM does let you monitor active traffic flows. If its being denied that should give you an indication on where to look next. Im no ZBF expert but that is where I would start. Have someone from the outside try and connect and monitor the flow to see if you can see anything in the logs etc.

Also I found this:

ip port-map user-GRE-MARRS port tcp 47 description user-GRE-MARRS