Should I buy a firewall?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I buy a firewall?

Hi Forum members, I am a newbie as such...

I have just setup our company with a SBS2003 where we are 10 clients connected.

I have to network cards and the server act's as a router.
    since the server is acting as a router between the WAN and LAN I could imagine that I will need a firewall in front of the server before it connects to the internet.

If I am right, what firewall would you then recomend?

We use VPN, FTP, Exchange, OWA

Best regards,
    Kristoffer
    Last edited by kmf_fab; 14th March 2009, 15:27. Reason: The title was not good enough

Re: Should I buy a firewall?

I would purchase a firewall to front-end the SBS server. The thought of having any Microsoft based server directly connected to internet.... would make me lose some sleep. At least search for "hardening" procedures for the SBS server and implement them.

Based on your budget, there are many good firewalls available (netgear, linksys, cisco pix, etc...). All of which should meet your requirements.

Comment

Originally posted by scowles View Post
      I would purchase a firewall to front-end the SBS server. The thought of having any Microsoft based server directly connected to internet.... would make me lose some sleep. At least search for "hardening" procedures for the SBS server and implement them.

Based on your budget, there are many good firewalls available (netgear, linksys, cisco pix, etc...). All of which should meet your requirements.
      SonicWall also worth considering.

Comment

Re: Should I buy a firewall for our new SBS2003?

Originally posted by kmf_fab View Post
        I have just setup our company with a SBS2003 where we are 10 clients connected.