Block websites

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Block websites

Hello everyone,

I need some help.
    I have a workgroup having access to internet and I am usin Cisco Router 2800.
    I need to block some traffic.
    Could you please help me how to configure the router if it is possible to block traffic from websites like rapidshare or other sites.

Please help me using simple intructions.

Thnak you in advance.

block certain websites on the router

Im new to cisco routers and I have a Cisco 2800
    Could you please tell me how to block certain websites from the router.

Re: Access-list / Group??

Claud53, please don't hijack other users posts. I've flagged this to be moved to its own thread but in the interim you will probably find blocking websites on a router generally requires blocking their IP addresses. This is a very long and painful task. You may be better off finding something like Websense for this task.

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Re: Access-list / Group??

moved it away from the hijacked thread.
        Also threads merged.
        I suggest you read the forum rules.
        Last edited by Dumber; 26th January 2009, 13:17.
        Technical Consultant

MCITP(EA, SA), MCSA/E 2003:Security, CCNA, SNAF, DCUCI, CCSA/E/E+ (R60), VCP4/5, NCDA, NCIE - SAN, NCIE - BR, EMCPE
        "No matter how secure, there is always the human factor."

"Enjoy life today, tomorrow may never come."
        "If you're going through hell, keep going. ~Winston Churchill"

Re: Block websites

Thank you for your help

Re: Block websites

i perfectly agree with the previous posts when it comes to using websense or any other software for that matter that may provide wht you seek..

but on the other hand, i'll give you two solutions.. one that i'm actually using right now and another tht answers your question..

1- you may use a transparent proxy with WCCP.