No announcement yet.

Configuring VLAN..Need help

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Configuring VLAN..Need help

Dear friends

I am a newbie to switching field. I got a job to configure 7 ports (gig0/39 - 46) of switch3 (Cisco 3560) for Vlan 610. This ports are already member of VLAN 320 which is default VLAN for this environment. Let me explain the scenerio

Switch 3 is connecting to Switch 1 which is eventually connecting to outside network which is Hospital site. Switch at hospital end is configured for VLAN 610 and is connecting at two ports of switch 1 at (gig 0/34 -35). Switch 3 is connected to switch 1 at ports (gig 0/47 -4. Default VLAN of Switch 3 is also VLAN 320. I need to make communication possible from switch 3 to hospital site.

After analysing network,

Ports 47-48 existing uplink to SW1
    Ports 39-46 VLAN 610 (Need to Configure)

Ports 1-45 Remain in existing VLAN.

I telnet to Sw3 to configure ports 39-46 for vlan 610.
    switch(conf t)# interface range gig 0/39-46
    # switchport mode access
    # vlan 610
    It didnt configured properly and i noticed errors on interface after running show run command. I realize, i need to remove default vlan 320 first from port and then i can add vlan 610 to port. I run no vlan 320 at interfaces and what i see entire network goes down and i lost connection from switch. I attended onsite and restore config file to switch.

I still need to configure ports to make communication possible between switch3 and hospital site.

What i need to do to successfully achieve the goal?
    Your help much appreciated. It is bit urgent... ManyThanks

Re: Configuring VLAN..Need help

I am not completely sure I follow you but here is what I think.

telnet to Sw3 to configure ports 39-46 for vlan 610.
    switch(conf t)# interface range gig 0/39-46
    switch(config-if-range)# switchport mode access
    switch(config-if-range)# switchport access vlan 610