cisco 2924xl stuck when booting, help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cisco 2924xl stuck when booting, help

i have a cisco 2924c XL EN switch the 8meg one, which is part of my Cisco lab. (im studying for my CCNA) as it starts to boot i get this, and no more.

Loading "flash:c2900XL-c3h2s-mz-120.5.2-XU.bin"...##############################
    ################################################## ##############################
    ################################################## #####################

File "flash:c2900XL-c3h2s-mz-120.5.2-XU.bin" uncompressed and installed, entry p
    oint: 0x3000
    executing...

ive tryed loading ios again but no luck, (same thing happens) ive removed config file as well.

this is one of two switches i got in my lab but this is the first time i have used this one, so i have tryed a few other ios as well all but one gave same reasult, but one ios (c2900XL-h-mz-112.8.3-SA3) gave a wrong software for hardware

dose anyone have any ideas, please!!

Re: cisco 2924xl stuck when booting, help

My guess is that that switch has a hardware issue as it sounds like you are doing everything right.....

Perhaps opening it up and reseating the flash or RAM could help...
    David Davis - Petri Forums Moderator & Video Training Author
    Train Signal - The Global Leader in IT Video Training
    TrainSignalTraining.com - Free IT Training Products
    Personal Websites: HappyRouter.com & VMwareVideos.com

Comment

thank you for your reply

how do you reseat flash, ram in a switch? thought it was all onboard (not seperate)

Comment

You can't reset them.

I meant to RE-SEAT them - in other words, take them out, blow out the area with canned air, clean the RAM/Flash contacts, and reinstall them firmly.

As I am suggesting that the hardware is to blame, the RAM & Flash are usually the only pieces that you can you replace, or at least try re-seat them.