Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help setting up my WAN

Hi,

This is my first time posting, I hope I am following the correct procedures. I have read several posts and feel confident that I have come to the right place and will soon have solutions to my problems.

I have recently purchased many pieces of equipment from eBay. I now need help figuring out exactly what each piece of equipment does as well as, how to connect all the equipment together.

Here is a list of the equipment:

Equip Qty Model
    Routers
    01 4000M
    01 2514
    03 2501
    10 1604
    01 806

Switches
    01 WS-C16M-XL29
    01 WS-C1924C-EN

Hubs
    02 WS-C424M

Cables
    24 CAB-V35MT
    20 CAB-AC
    01 CAB-232MT-10

As you can see, I have purchased many cables and still canít seem to connect any two routers together via their serial ports. The CAB-V35MTs have the proper LFH60 (DB-60) on one end, however, they have a V35M connector on the other which wonít fit any of the routers.

Having read other posts, I believe I can connect the hubs and the switches to the routers via Ethernet cables using transceivers, however, if you can elaborate on the transceivers that I need to purchase as well as how to connect them, that would be a great help. I would also like to know if there is any benefit to using the SCSI connections on the 424.

Thank You
    Attached Files

Re: Help setting up my WAN

What prompted your decision to buy each piece of equipment, if you don't even know what they do? I'm confused how we can help you; have you designed a network which you want to build with the equipment you bought, or were you simply hoping to throw something together, or what?

By the way - simply connecting it all together is insufficient to gain a working network; it all has to be configured to talk to all the other kit first...

Tom