Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Do I Become A Cisco Guru?

Hi All,

I acquired the CCNA and CCNP certifications about 4 years ago. It was all self study. I just read the books and did the exam/s. During that time I didn't have any contact with cisco equipment. I recently started a new job where I'm a system administrator at a company which supports approximately 30 routers along with numerous servers. I find that my real work knowledge and experience with cisco routers is lacking. I have the CCNA and CCNP sybex study guides but I find that they are mainly geared for the exam and don't provide information and examples useful for the real world. What books do you suggest I purchase that provide real world advice? What are your go to books when when u have cisco networking issues? What websites/forums do you visit when you have unsolveable problems? How do I progress beyond just being certified? So what I am really asking is how do I become a cisco guru?

Thanks

Re: How Do I Become A Cisco Guru?

How did you pass the practical labs?!

Tom
    For my own and your protection, I do not provide support by private message under any circumstances. All such messages will be deleted and ignored.

Anything you say will be misquoted and used against you

Comment

Simulations.

Comment

Well, since you have 30 routers, figure out a way to take that 1 or 2 you must have for Disaster Recovery and build a lab setup and practice, practice, practice.

EDIT: To answer your thread's title: "Hire one"
        Cheers,

Rick

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **

2006-2099 R Valstar. This post is offered "as is" for discussion purposes only with no express or implied warranty of any kind including, but not limited to, correctness or fitness for use. Nothing herein shall be construed as advice. Attempting any activity based on information in this post is done at your own risk.

Comment