Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connecting 1900 to 2501 via serial

Hello,

I am a newbie here to the world of Cisco, and I am not sure on how to make some things work.

I currently have a 2501, and a 1911.

I would like to know how, besides ethernet, to connect my 2 devices together with a serial connection, or another way, if that is not possible. From what I can find on google, you cannot connect these via a dte/dce cable, is this right? If that is the case, then how do I do it??

The end result is taking my cable modem directly to my 2501 via a transceiver with ethernet, and then getting the switch connected, and then routing off that configuration.

Hope this is not a dupe post, and this is also my first post.

Thanks,
    Derek

****Seeing as my post has been read a number of times, and no one if able to answer it....could someone maybe answer this instead....instead of going from the router to switch via serial, go ethernet, and then get a RJ45 to DB60 cable, and run that from the modem to the router?? Would that be possible???

Any info would greatly help.

Thanks again,
    Derek
    Last edited by fletch_iz; 22nd January 2007, 23:25. Reason: addition of information

Re: Connecting 1900 to 2501 via serial

Hi Derek,

A 1911 is a switch and a 2501 is a router. You would not connect these via serial, only via ethernet.

From the Router's ethernet to the Switch's Ethernet, you are forming your Ethernet LAN (local area network). From the router to another router, you would, typically, form your WAN (wide area network).

Does that make sense?
    David Davis - Petri Forums Moderator & Video Training Author
    Train Signal - The Global Leader in IT Video Training
    TrainSignalTraining.com - Free IT Training Products
    Personal Websites: HappyRouter.com & VMwareVideos.com

Comment

Hi David,

Thanks for taking the time to post on this....was wondering if anyone had a solution.