Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router Placement

Hi
    Currently I have my leased line terminated to a Checkpoint Firewall, which is doing a pretty good job. Now I am getting a Cisco 2811 router , I am also thinking about going for an extra DSL connection so that I can have a failover net connection if possible. So my question is where do you suggest me to place the router?

Current net diagram is attached to this posting

The one I am having in mind is also attached to this posting and you must be able to see it at the bottom of this post.

I am pretty much confused about the IP address scheme changes I need to do to achive this. What are the suggestion you have on this.

Thanx
    Dotfish
    Attached Files

Re: Router Placement

While I am new to this whole thing, and I would say that daviddavis, therreanaut, and a host of others can probably answer your question far better than I can, why not upgrade the 2811 to the firewalled IOS and replace the Checkpoint altogether?

Less devices, simpler administration, less power consumption...

Only a thought. If you still want to add the router to your existing setup, one of those fine gentlemen can help you far better than I.

Chris

Comment

Hi Dotfish,

Thanks for your post.

Your proposed diagram is a keeper, in my opinion. Go with what you proposed.

You need the router out the outside of the network to make routing decisions between your two ISP's (the T1 and the DSL line). The router will know who has what network and what ISP is up or down.

The checkpoint will be there to protect your DMZ and internal LAN. That is where you want it.