VLANs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VLANs

Hello I'm new to the forum and pretty new to the IT industry. I'm seeking advice/ideas for possibly setting up VLANs at my job.

Here is my situation... I work in a school and I am on site support, so I can do a few things but not much. I'm trying to increase the performance of our network and I'm not sure if VLANs would do just that. We have a full T1, and we are fully switched, but performance on our network is not very good during peak hours. There are a total of about 200 computers on the network, sometimes more depending on how many students are using the wireless.

I have no administrative access to the Cisco 2600 router or the main switch. But I can configure most of the other Cisco 2950 switches any way I want. I haven't done much yet except set an IP address, default gateway, subnet mask, password, and save the settings. I have a total of 9 switches to configure. We have 4 lab rooms with 30 PCs in each one, and the last room is a library with 20 PCs.

My question is...should I setup a VLAN for each lab or is that just too much? If I can, will I be able to without administrative rights on the router or main switch? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: VLANs

I would start monitoring what traffic passes during the peak hours...
    And what is slow? File transfer? Opening a word file on a file server? Internet?
    Marcel
    Technical Consultant
    Netherlands
    http://www.phetios.com
    http://blog.nessus.nl

MCITP(EA, SA), MCSA/E 2003:Security, CCNA, SNAF, DCUCI, CCSA/E/E+ (R60), VCP4/5, NCDA, NCIE - SAN, NCIE - BR, EMCPE
    "No matter how secure, there is always the human factor."

"Enjoy life today, tomorrow may never come."
    "If you're going through hell, keep going. ~Winston Churchill"

Comment

Internet is slow.

Is it a good idea to seperate each lab with a VLAN?

Comment