Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Activate/Deactivate

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Activate/Deactivate

    We are moving our TSCals to a new server (2003, same as old) and have successfully installed the license server. I just completed activation of this server and the Windows Clearinghouse portion. Everything looks correct and the next step is to deactivated the "old" server.

    If I deactivate the old server and then realize that the new server isn't working, will I have to go through the Windows Clearinghouse process again to reactivate the old server?

    Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

  • #2
    Re: Activate/Deactivate

    I asked the wrong question--
    Originally posted by cmj0002 View Post
    If I deactivate the old server and then realize that the new server isn't working, will I have to go through the Windows Clearinghouse process again to reactivate the old server?
    My apologies. What I meant to ask is, is it safe to deactivate the server now without causing chaos to the existing users? Or, if I understand this correctly, that, even if the server is deactivated, they will continue with their license until it is up for renewal. Will this still be the case when they down this server next week?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Activate/Deactivate

      The answer is yes.

      However, to reduce the risk you can do:

      1. Image the original server.

      2. Use the new license server for trial of 120 days and then resolve this issue.
      Best Regards,

      Yuval Sinay

      LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yuval14, Blog: http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/yuval14

      Comment

      Working...
      X