Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

    Hello.

    I have to add a terminal server with 2003 R2 64Bits to an existing SBS 3003. I have been reading some tutorials and I'm thinking in doing things in the following order (please give me your opinion):

    - Install 2003 R2
    - Activate Terminal Services
    - Installing standard application (Office) in install mode
    - In customer's office, connect it to the network and end the second part of 2003 setup in order to recognise SBS domain
    - Install user terminal CAL on SBS (license server)
    - Install one specific application in install mode
    - Create remote users on SBS AD
    - Configure DMZ on router

    By the way I'm having some trouble in understand where do I define users as belonging to Remote Desktop Users, I'm unable to find it. I know that I must define remote users as able to logon terminal services, but I don't know how can I define them as belonging to it.

    About terminal clients using Windows XP, as I understood I'm able to use Remote Desktop connection on accessories to connect to client's router public IP. Is there any other easier way?

    Thanks for your help.

  • #2
    Re: Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

    Install Windows Server 2003 R2
    Let this server join the domain.

    TS Licensing:
    Very Important! Make up which licensing model you are going to use (Device or user CAL's).Install your license server and set the correct licensing mode, activate your license server.

    Install Terminal Services on your new server.

    Configure Application groups (not much as it is TS and not Citrix PS).

    Install applications in install mode (Change User -Install/Change User -execute/Change User -query)

    Add the appropiate usergroups to the remote desktop user group and your TS server. Start - Run - Type manage - Local Users and groups - Remote desktop users.

    Configure DMZ
    [Powershell]
    Start-DayDream
    Set-Location Malibu Beach
    Get-Drink
    Lay-Back
    Start-Sleep
    ....
    Wake-Up!
    Resume-Service
    Write-Warning
    [/Powershell]

    BLOG: Therealshrimp.blogspot.com

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

      Thanks, Killerbe.

      About licensing, since SBS in using User CAL's the terminal will be of the same kind ( they will be added later due to the fact that volume licensing for 2003 was suspended to give place to 2008 products ).

      I've understood that the terminal should be installed after joining the domain.

      About the group, I've found on BuiltIn from Active Directory. I've read that we don't have to put remote users on "accessing from terminal services" policy" if we put them on this group. Is that so?

      About remote computers accessing Terminal Server, do you know any other way of doing it besides Remote Desktop Connection on Accessories?

      Thanks again.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

        Hi,

        Please consider to do the following steps:

        1. If you can, move to regular domain and retire the SBS.
        2. Add a new Win 2008 to the domain.
        3. Install on it TS License, TS Gateway, TS Server roles.
        4. Add certificate to the TS Gateway.
        5. Setup the correct permissions to the TS and publish the applications
        via TS Gateway.
        6. Activate the license server.
        7. Allow access from the world to HTTPS to the new server (I guess
        that you dont have a spare $ for SSL VPN or to add a special server
        as TS Gateway in the DMZ.
        8. Create a security and backup plan.
        Best Regards,

        Yuval Sinay

        LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yuval14, Blog: http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/yuval14

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

          Hello yuval.

          I must keep SBS for SQL Database being used.

          The idea is to create a DMZ on firewall in order to redirect it to TErminal Server in which people will login accordingly.

          Could you help understanding the access via HTTPS or the installation of a certificate ? An example, something like that...

          Thanks.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

            You can move the SQL to another server

            Please review the Webcasts on the TS:

            http://www.microsoft.com/events/seri...casts&id=42565
            Best Regards,

            Yuval Sinay

            LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yuval14, Blog: http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/yuval14

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Newbie at Microsoft TS: adding to a SBS domain and novice doubts.

              Originally posted by duplo_c View Post
              - Installing standard application (Office) in install mode
              By the way, regular Microsoft Office 2007 (I mean oem or retail box) does not work on TS. You have to get Microsoft Office 2007 under open licencing instead.
              Best wishes,
              PaulH.
              MCP:Server 2003; MCITP:Server 2008; MCTS: SBS2008

              Comment

              Working...
              X