Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Remote Connection can't be made to terminal server from outside network.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Remote Connection can't be made to terminal server from outside network.

I have a Windows 2003 Server R2 setup with terminal server. 2 NIC one set to internal LAN and the other hooked direct ot internet. I can get a remote connection from any workstation (XP and RDP 5.2) on the local LAN but if I try to make a connection outside network using fixed IP address, it cannot make the connection.

This is my first time for setting up terminal services and I am using it to provide access to an application on server to remote workstations.

Any help you can give me would be appreciated, as I am trying to finish a job so that I can get paid.

Thank you,

zadkin

Re: Remote Connection can't be made to terminal server from outside network.

When you say "direct to the internet", is there a firewall maybe? Do a shields up port scan on port 3389 to see if it is really open.
    "...if I turn out to be particularly clear, you've probably misunderstood what I've said” - Alan Greenspan

Comment

Did the sheilds up and it reports port 3389 as "stealth". Most of my ports on in stealth mode for this windows server. What is the best way to open it and still maintain security?

thanks.

Comment

If this is only a TS and nothing else, then all but 3389 should be closed/stealth. 3389 has to be open if your are to connect to it from outside. Security is maintained by a good password policy, and all the other security measures. (AV, Patches, etc...)
        "...if I turn out to be particularly clear, you've probably misunderstood what I've said” - Alan Greenspan

Comment

How do you open port 3389 on server 2003?

Comment

Its on the firewall. Do you have a router or modem/router? The server does have a firewall of its own, but i do not think you (in this case) have to worry about it

Comment