Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

    Hello

    We update the windows updates for 1 server .(terminal server)

    but every one connect to he terminal have a window "automatic updates"
    they don't have the option to restart or restart later
    but the windows is annoing every one .

    What to enable at the policy to disapear this windows
    Last edited by choriso; 28th February 2007, 13:08. Reason: explain the answer

  • #2
    Re: DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

    Post screen shot of the message and please post in JPG format. Thanks.
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

      I think I understand your question, if I have misunderstood I am sorry.

      There is a group policy that will disable automatic restarts after an update, so that you can restart the server at a time that is more acceptable to you. If you use this, your Terminal Server users will not see the annoying message, but you must remember to restart the server manually whenever a Windows Update requires a restart.

      Context: Computer

      PolicyPath: Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Update

      Policy name: No auto-restart for scheduled Automatic Updates installations

      Supported On: Windows Server 2003, XP SP1, 2000 SP3


      Information: Specifies that to complete a scheduled installation, Automatic Updates will wait for the computer to be restarted by any user who is logged on, instead of causing the computer to restart automatically. If the status is set to Enabled, Automatic Updates will not restart a computer automatically during a scheduled installation if a user is logged in to the computer. Instead, Automatic Updates will notify the user to restart the computer. Be aware that the computer needs to be restarted for the updates to take effect. If the status is set to Disabled or Not Configured, Automatic Updates will notify the user that the computer will automatically restart in 5 minutes to complete the installation. Note: This policy applies only when Automatic Updates is configured to perform scheduled installations of updates. If the Configure Automatic Updates policy is disabled, this policy has no effect.
      Best wishes,
      PaulH.
      MCP:Server 2003; MCITP:Server 2008; MCTS: SBS2008

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

        Yes you'r right

        but i wanted to disable the annoying message for futures updates

        meanwhile i change the security permissions from the wuaclt.exe
        to disable all users

        but i wanted another solution , I read all the update at policies temp and i didn't found nothing yet.
        Last edited by choriso; 1st March 2007, 14:40.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

          Originally posted by choriso View Post
          Yes but i wanted to disable the annoying message for futures updates

          .
          Well, that is exactly what I have given you.
          Best wishes,
          PaulH.
          MCP:Server 2003; MCITP:Server 2008; MCTS: SBS2008

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: DISABLING Message after WINDOWS UPDATE

            Hust stop the automatic update service and set the GPO for the future..
            Best Regards,

            Yuval Sinay

            LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yuval14, Blog: http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/yuval14

            Comment

            Working...
            X