Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

    Hi All,

    Im currently working on a test LAB for SCCM 2012, Ive got a total of 3 PC's (Win 2012, Win7 and Win 2008 R2). The Win 2008 machine has SCCM installed on it and is reporting fine within the Resource Explorer but I cant get the other 2 to show their resources. Ive enabled what I think is correct within group policy/firewall - are there any tests or have I missed something obvious?

    As I say its only a LAB so its not critical, but Id be keen to understand why its not working properly.

    Thanks as always

  • #2
    Re: Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

    did you install the client on the other 2 boxes?

    verify the client installed correctly.you can find this log at: c:\windows\system32\ccm\logs\locationservices.log

    what does the inventoryagent.log say on one of the clients? can you verify that the process initiates? does it say it sent the info?

    what does the "c:\program files\sms_ccm\logs\mp_hinv.log" file say? are there errors?

    if you verify that the agents are correct and the logs say the data is collected and sent, then the management point sounds suspect... i dont want to jump the gun, but since this is a lab, uninstall the mp and force a replication, then reinstall the mp and see what happens.

    there is a decent little troubleshooting guide that may be of help, if not now then later on:
    SCCM BASIC TROUBLESHOOTING
    its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
    Give karma where karma is due...

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

      Originally posted by James Haynes View Post
      did you install the client on the other 2 boxes?

      verify the client installed correctly.you can find this log at: c:\windows\system32\ccm\logs\locationservices.log

      what does the inventoryagent.log say on one of the clients? can you verify that the process initiates? does it say it sent the info?

      what does the "c:\program files\sms_ccm\logs\mp_hinv.log" file say? are there errors?

      if you verify that the agents are correct and the logs say the data is collected and sent, then the management point sounds suspect... i dont want to jump the gun, but since this is a lab, uninstall the mp and force a replication, then reinstall the mp and see what happens.

      there is a decent little troubleshooting guide that may be of help, if not now then later on:
      SCCM BASIC TROUBLESHOOTING
      Thanks James,

      Yep installed the clients on the other 2 machines - and they display as active (client and yes) within the console, thats why its strange as everything seems fine.

      The logs aren't reporting any errors,

      Code:
      <![LOG[==========[ ccmsetup started in process 3664 ]==========]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:9100">
      <![LOG[Running on platform X64]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="util.cpp:1681">
      <![LOG[Updated security on object C:\Windows\ccmsetup\cache\.]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="0" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8944">
      <![LOG[Launch from folder C:\Windows\ccmsetup\cache\]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:721">
      <![LOG[CcmSetup version: 5.0.7804.1000]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:727">
      <![LOG[Running on OS (6.1.7601). Service Pack (1.0). SuiteMask = 256. Product Type = 1]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:2673">
      <![LOG[Ccmsetup command line: C:\Windows\ccmsetup\cache\ccmsetup.exe /evaluate:client]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:3563">
      <![LOG[Loaded command line: C:\Windows\ccmsetup\cache\ccmsetup.exe "/runservice" "/config:C:\Windows\ccmsetup\MobileClientUnicode.tcf"]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:3713">
      <![LOG[SslState value: 224]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="0" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4330">
      <![LOG[Invalid argument '-' in the config file. Ignore it.]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="2" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:3916">
      <![LOG[Invalid argument 'First' in the config file. Ignore it.]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="2" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:3916">
      <![LOG[Invalid argument 'Site' in the config file. Ignore it.]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="2" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:3916">
      <![LOG[CCMHTTPPORT:    80]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8280">
      <![LOG[CCMHTTPSPORT:    443]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8295">
      <![LOG[CCMHTTPSSTATE:    224]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8313">
      <![LOG[CCMHTTPSCERTNAME:    ]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8331">
      <![LOG[FSP:    GBR]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8383">
      <![LOG[CCMFIRSTCERT:    1]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8441">
      <![LOG[Client is set to use HTTPS when available. The current state is 224.]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.474-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmutillib.cpp:404">
      <![LOG[CCMCERTID:    SMS;4AA894CA73B5A2C60CC2D9E2D6F036A4ABCBAD42]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="0" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:8462">
      <![LOG[Config file:      C:\Windows\ccmsetup\MobileClientUnicode.tcf]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4432">
      <![LOG[Retry time:       10 minute(s)]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4433">
      <![LOG[MSI log file:     C:\Windows\ccmsetup\Logs\client.msi.log]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4434">
      <![LOG[MSI properties:    INSTALL="ALL" SMSSITECODE="GBR" FSP="GBR" CCMHTTPPORT="80" CCMHTTPSPORT="443" CCMHTTPSSTATE="224" CCMFIRSTCERT="1" CCMCERTID="SMS;4AA894CA73B5A2C60CC2D9E2D6F036A4ABCBAD42"]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4435">
      <![LOG[Source List:]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4443">
      <![LOG[                  \\WIN-SCCM.testdomain.com\SMSClient]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4450">
      <![LOG[                  \\WIN-SCCM.TESTDOMAIN.COM\SMSClient]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4459">
      <![LOG[MPs:]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4462">
      <![LOG[                  WIN-SCCM.testdomain.com]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:4477">
      <![LOG[Ccmsetup will run as an evaluation.]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:2725">
      <![LOG[CcmSetup is exiting with return code 0]LOG]!><time="19:49:47.536-60" date="04-25-2013" component="ccmsetup" context="" type="1" thread="3668" file="ccmsetup.cpp:10540">
      That's from the inventory agent log on one of the clients. The fact that its 2 separate machines leads me to think as you said it is DP related.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

        Originally posted by James Haynes View Post
        i dont want to jump the gun, but since this is a lab, uninstall the mp and force a replication, then reinstall the mp and see what happens.
        Do you mean just remove and re-add the MP role? Or remove the server from the Servers and site system roles and re-add it?

        Thanks

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

          dont remove the whole server, just the role. if something go hosed, when you re-add the role it should set itself up properly.

          i have also seen errors when the dB permissions arent set up correctly or people mess with them...

          ***EDIT***

          i was just looking and found another troubleshooting guide that may be helpful. i guess i should have suggested the basic connectivity tests and such...

          SCCM Inventory Troubleshooting
          Last edited by James Haynes; 25th April 2013, 20:56.
          its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
          Give karma where karma is due...

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

            Originally posted by James Haynes View Post
            dont remove the whole server, just the role. if something go hosed, when you re-add the role it should set itself up properly.

            i have also seen errors when the dB permissions arent set up correctly or people mess with them...

            Just to update, on the client I forced a hardware Inventory cycle by going to "on the client" Control Panel - Actions - Select hardware Inventory Cycle and click the run now button.
            Maybe I hadn't left the server run for long enough, or I should have set the schedule time to less. Either way it works

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Win SCCM 2012 - Unable to get hardware resource info

              nice. glad to hear its up and running!

              best wishes,
              J
              its easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission.
              Give karma where karma is due...

              Comment

              Working...
              X